[Review] the SAEM Cover Perfection Tip Concealer – My $5 Lazy Foundation

Jpeg

the SAEM Cover Perfection Tip Concealer

  • Where I got the the SAEM Cover Perfection Tip Concealer?
    Qoo10
    Note: I ordered the concealer with a bunch of other awesome products to save on shipping. I’ve turned into a Qoo10 addict OMG. But I found out the online store Althea actually sells it cheaper than it already is… 
  • Details of the the SAEM Cover Perfection Tip Concealer:
    Official the SAEM Website
    – 7.5g thin screw-cap bottle
    – Functionality: Coverage (duh?), Skin-brightening, Healthier Skin (something to do with oxygen), UV Protection (SPF28/PA++)
    Higher SPF means longer protection! SPF28 translate to approximately 4.5 hours of protection! But please put on proper sunscreen (before your makeup) if you intend to go outdoors!
    PA++ means decent protection! More ‘+’s, better protection!
    – Made in Korea
    – Comes in 3 shades:

    • 01. Clear Beige
    • 1.5 Natural Beige
    • 02. Rich Beige
The Saem Concealer Swatches

Image from the SAEM Website

I was pretty sure that 01. Clear Beige was out of consideration, but had difficulty deciding between 1.5 Natural Beige or 02. Rich Beige. As I had read up somewhere that 1.5 Natural Beige was a new shade created because there was feedback that 02. Rich Beige was too tan, I decided to go for 1.5 Natural Beige because I am considered to be on the ‘fair’ side.

[UPDATE: 1.5 Natural Beige and 02. Rich Beige Swatch]

The Story…

I guess it was a blessing in disguise that I had ran out of my Tea Tree concealer from The Body Shop. I really loved the concealer as it is a cover-stick form that is really easy to apply. It also has an awesome coverage and because it contains tea tree oil, it doesn’t aggravate the condition of my pimples! I have been using it for years until it ran out. I refuse to buy it at cost price (SGD19.90) as I know The Body Shop always has the Buy 2 Get 1 Free promotion where I will not hesitate to grab 3 concealers for the price of 2 (means SGD13.27 each). I know, I know, kiasu max, but it’s a saving of almost SGD7!!! And as I had missed the promotion period and have no clue when it will be back, I decided to hunt for an alternative…

Jpeg

My Beloved Concealer

Jpeg

Almost Empty… Like My Wallet… T_T

I had watched Shu An’s Tried and Tested video on a Muji Eyeshadow and was sold (I bought it!) and decided to try out their concealer as well. The price was cheaper at SGD11.90 and with a 10% discount, it worked out to be SGD10.71. But I realized the concealer is actually more expensive because it’s only 2g!!!! The Body Shop’s concealer is 4.5g which means (taking into consideration the discount) it’s actually SGD2.94/g for The Body Shop and SGD5.35/g for the Muji concealer. I feel dumb.  The coverage is pretty decent but then again, The Body Shop one works well at a cheaper price; so I won’t be doing a review on the Muji concealer.

Jpeg

The ‘I Feel Dumb’ Concealer -.-;

So I started digging through Daddoa’s videos and found out about the the Saem Cover Perfection Tip Concealer at an unbelievable price of 4000KRW! That’s like SGD5!!! I don’t think they sell it in Singapore stores, but it was sold for SGD7.20 on Qoo10 with a shipping fee of SGD3, (I bought more stuff and made my shipping worth). Even at SGD10.30, it was absolutely worth it because it’s 6.5g, which makes it SGD1.59/g!!! 

Jpeg

My Qoo10 Haul

***Don’t say I never share, but I only found out about Althea Singapore after my shopping haul from Qoo10 that the online store actually sells the the Saem Cover Perfection Tip Concealer at SGD5!!! SAY WUT?!?!?! Which makes it officially the cheapest concealer EVERXZXZXZX!!! But the store requires a minimum SGD50 spent to be entitled to free shipping, otherwise shipping was around SGD12.50 if I remember correctly. 

 

The Trial…

Application: It works similar to a liquid foundation with the exception that you apply it with a ‘tip’ brush. Whenever I get lazy  (which means most of the time), I would use my concealer as a foundation and apply all over my face (even out skin tone and coverage, killing two birds with 1 stone). Just remember not to over-apply makeup as it will turn ‘cakey’. I simply spot the concealer all over my face (like when I apply foundation keke) and dab on extra on parts that require more coverage. The concealer blends well, but then again, it’s pretty hard to go wrong with liquid-based formula products…

Jpeg

The Tip Concealer

Jpeg

Dab Dab Dab

Coverage: I must say, the coverage was really awesome for its price. One layer had basically ‘coloured’ over my skin tone and a second layer was simply to cover up the more obvious spots. I learned not to over-apply just to fill in my pores as the ‘cakey’ effect at the end of the day is really horrendous. I typically don’t really bother about my eye area because I usually get away with it with the reflection from my glasses.

I have been using the concealer almost everyday now, and it covers most of my pimple conditions well. I had a major breakout during the time of the month and the concealer worked wonderfully.

If you’re interested: Aritaum Oil Serum CC Cream Review

Durability: No vigorous routine today as I was feeling tired and unwell. Hung out in front of my computer for around 2 hours and ate as well. Might have slightly faded off due to my nose-rubbing, but coverage was still there. Really good for basic office makeup!

The Aftermath…

Two words and an emoticon: Get it. 

[UPDATE: 1.5 Natural Beige and 02. Rich Beige Swatch]

One thought on “[Review] the SAEM Cover Perfection Tip Concealer – My $5 Lazy Foundation

Leave a comment